Sunday, 21 September 2014

'The Royal Lacemaker' by Linda Finlay


Release date: 9th October 2014
Published by: Penguin
ISBN No: 978 1405918954


At only seventeen years old, Lily Rose scratches out a meagre living as a lace maker in Devon, responsible for her siblings following the death of their parents.
But opportunity beckons. Hundreds of miles away, in London, Queen Victoria is preparing for her wedding. She will wear the most exquisite wedding dress in history, bearing the famous Honiton lace. When Lily is asked to be one of the select few to work on this top-secret commission it is the answer to her prayers.
Lily quickly makes an impression, both as an expert seamstress and a natural leader of the women working day and night to ensure their families' survival. But there are others who want to see Lily fail, including Squire Clinsden who issues her with a terrible ultimatum - work for him, and be subject to his unwanted advances, or lose the family home.
Torn between her duty and her dreams of a better life, Lily must remember where she came from or risk losing those most important to her.

Copyright: Amazon Synopsis

'Mr Miracle' by Debbie Macomber


Release date: 20th November 2014
Published by: Arrow
ISBN No: 978 0099595038


Harry Mills is a guardian angel on a mission: help Addie Folsom to get her life back on track - and help her find love.
Creating a happy ending for Addie and her neighbour Erich doesn't seem like much of a challenge. But soon after arriving in the town of Tacoma, Harry realises he might need some guidance. Addie and Erich can't stand each other; growing up he was popular and outgoing, while she was rebellious and headstrong. Addie would now rather avoid Erich entirely, especially at Christmas.
Harry is going to need all the help he can get, and a bit of divine inspiration, to help Addie and Erich find their Christmas miracle.


Copyright: Amazon Synopsis

'The Witch With No Name' by Kim Harrison


Release date: 9th October 2014
Published by: Harper Collins Publishers Ltd
ISBN No: 978 0007555345


It's Rachel Morgan's ultimate adventure ...and anything can happen in this final book by New York Times bestselling author Kim Harrison. Rachel Morgan has come a long way since her early days as an inexperienced bounty hunter. She's faced vampires and werewolves, banshees, witches, and soul-eating demons. She's crossed worlds, channelled gods, and accepted her place as a day-walking demon. She's lost friends and lovers and family, and an old enemy has unexpectedly become something much more. But power demands responsibility, and world-changers must always pay a price. Rachel knew that this day would come -and now it is here. To save Ivy's soul and the rest of the living vampires, to keep the demonic ever-after and our own world from destruction, Rachel Morgan will risk everything ...



Copyright: The Book Depository Synopsis

'Christmas on the Mersey' by Annie Groves


Release date: 23rd October 2014
Published by: Harper
ISBN No: 978 0007550821


The phoney war is over and Hitler’s bombs are raining down on the city of Liverpool.
Rita Kennedy is forced to face some unpalatable truths about her husband, Charlie. But she must still play the part of dutiful wife, while her childhood sweetheart, Jack Callaghan, has shown her nothing but kindness. Can they keep a check on their emotions or will their friendship develop into something more?
For Kitty Callaghan, burying herself in her work distracts from the constant worry about her brothers. Tommy is back from his evacuee posting after falling ill, but now he faces danger in another guise. And what about Danny, always ducking and diving and up to no good? And then there’s Frank Feeny, the man she adores. Will they ever be together?
With a Christmas of rationing and ‘going without’ to look forward to, the women of Empire Street are being tested like never before. But their troubles are only just beginning…



Copyright: Amazon Synopsis

Saturday, 20 September 2014

'The White Queen of Middleham' by Lesley J. Nickell


Release date: 27th August 2014
Published by: Memoirs Publishing
ISBN No:  978 1861512086


For Anne Neville, a timid and delicate child, ignored by her mother, patronised by her elder sister and bullied by her formidable father Warwick the Kingmaker, her childhood friend Richard Plantagenet becomes a source of strength throughout her life.As she moves abruptly from castle to castle, from England to France, with Warwick's changing fortunes in the turbulent Wars of the Roses, Anne is a pawn in the dangerous games of political intrigue that she struggles to understand.The third son of the ambitious Duke of York, later King Richard III, is a hero in the eyes of the shy and bewildered Anne, and the key to her understanding of the great events happening around her. Their love, almost wrecked by the feud of York and Lancaster, culminates in great happiness and the last Plantagenet reign in England.


Copyright: Amazon Synopsis

'Exquisite Captive' by Heather Demetrios


Release date: 7th October 2014
Published by: Balzer and Bray
ISBN No: 978 0062318565


Nalia is a jinni of tremendous ancient power, the only survivor of a coup that killed nearly everyone she loved. Now in hiding on the dark caravan—the lucrative jinni slave trade between Arjinna and Earth, where jinn are forced to grant wishes and obey their human masters' every command—she'd give almost anything to be free of the golden shackles that bind her to Malek, her handsome, cruel master, and his lavish Hollywood lifestyle. Enter Raif, the enigmatic leader of Arjinna's revolution and Nalia's sworn enemy. He promises to release Nalia from her master so that she can return to her ravaged homeland and free her imprisoned brother. There's just one catch: for Raif's unbinding magic to work, Nalia must gain possession of her bottle . . . and convince the dangerously persuasive Malek that she truly loves him.


Copyright: Harper Collins Synopsis

'Stray' by Elissa Sussman


Release date: 7th October 2014
Published by: Greenwillow Books
ISBN No: 978 0062274557


Stray tells the story of Aislynn, a princess who misbehaves and must give up her royal trappings and enter a life of service as a fairy godmother. Will Aislynn remain true to her vows and her royal family, and turn away from everything she longs for? Or will she stray from The Path and discover her own way? Epic, rewarding, and provocative, Stray will appeal to readers of Entwined, by Heather Dixon; to those who grew up watching the Disney princess movies; and to fans of the acclaimed musicals Into the Woods and Wicked.



Copyright: Harper Collins Synopsis

Thursday, 18 September 2014

'Stuck In A Good Book' Giveaway Hop 2014 (Win a $25/£20 Sterling Amazon Gift Card)!



Welcome to the 'Stuck In A Good Book' Giveaway Hop which is hosted by 'I am a Reader, not a Writer' and 'Stuck In Books'. 


To gain entry to this draw all you have to be is a 'GFC Follower' of my blog. Just complete the 'Rafflecopter Entry Form' that you will find at the end of this post. Extra entries can be obtained by also following this blog through Networked Blogs, Linky, Google+ or by just leaving a comment on this post. Once the form has been completed, you will have been entered into the draw.


As there is such a selection of books available these days, I am offering the main prize winner a $25 (US) / £20 (sterling) Amazon Gift Voucher/Certificate, so the winner can choose their own books! I will arrange that the prize is e-mailed to the winner on the completion of the draw!






One first prize of either a $25 (US) or £20 (sterling) Amazon Gift Voucher/Certificate!

There will be one main prize winner from this draw. The gift Voucher/Certificate will only be offered in either US dollars or pounds sterling. No other currencies can be catered for. Each entrant will be allocated a sequential number. After the closing date for this draw (25th September 2014 at 23.59 GMT), the winning number entered for this draw will be chosen by the Rafflecopter random draw winner selection system. This is an International Giveaway Draw! As I am based in the UK, I am about six hours ahead time wise of the majority of other blogs that are taking part in this hop! ;-) Please be patient for the other blogs to come on stream for this hop!! :-)


To visit the rest of the blogs that are taking part in this great hop, just click on the 'Click Here' link below, to be taken to a page of participating blog links.





Good luck Everyone!



If you are not in, you cannot win!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

'The Forbidden Rose' by Joanna Bourne


Release date: 4th December 2014
Published by: Headline
ISBN No: 978 1472222435 


The only person she can trust with her life ... is the man who trusts no one.
Marguerite de Fleurignac, once a glittering French aristocrat, is on the run, disguised as Maggie Duncan, British governess. Penniless and alone, she falls into the hands of a compelling stranger with a sinister scar. But why does he risk his life to save her?
William Doyle, England's premier spy, has a score to settle with the de Fleurignacs. When he rescues Maggie, he knows her to be the last, dangerous flower of a noble line. Drawn inexorably into the intrigue and madness of revolutionary Paris, they gamble on a love neither of them will admit. When the dance of deception and desire is over, will they betray the one another?

Copyright: Headline Synopsis

'Three Amazing Things About You' by Jill Mansell


Release date: 15th January 2015
Published by: Headline
ISBN No: 978 1472208859


Jill Mansell's enchanting new novel will drive readers to seize life with both hands and make the most of every minute...
Hallie has a secret. She's in love. He's perfect for her in every way, but he's seriously out of bounds. And her friends aren't going to help her because what they do know is that Hallie doesn't have long to live. Time is running out...
Flo has a dilemma. She really likes Zander. But his scary sister won't be even faintly amused if she thinks Zander and Flo are becoming friends - let alone anything more.
Tasha has a problem. Her new boyfriend is the adventurous type. And she's afraid one of his adventures will go badly wrong.
THREE AMAZING THINGS ABOUT YOU begins as Hallie goes on a journey. A donor has been found and she's about to be given new lungs. But whose?

Copyright: Headline Synopsis

'Rachel Does Rome' by Nicola Doherty


Release date: 5th February 2015
Published by:Headline
ISBN No: 978 1472218780


The fourth instalment in this hilarious, romantic and unputdownable five-part series. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk's I Heart... novels.
What do you do when your boyfriend of two months cancels Valentine's Day?
If you're Rachel, you book a last-minute trip to Rome. Together with her friends Lily and Maggie, she's planning a relaxing weekend of culture and cappuccinos to take her mind off men altogether. But when she bumps into a figure from her past, Rachel finds herself on a Roman Holiday that features Vespa rides, hot tubs and some very unexpected consequences ...
Girls on Tour is an irresistible series of interlinked stories about four friends, ordinary girls who have extraordinary fun in faraway places. Expect the unexpected, the utterly hilarious and unforgettable, on this rollercoaster ride of love, laughs, surprises and sparks. You have a VIP pass to join each girl's adventure, so pack your bags and buckle your seatbelts, because just about anything is possible...

Copyright: Headline Synopsis