Thursday, 28 October 2010

Poetry Society's National Poetry Competition

Deadline Approaches for National Poetry Competition

The deadline for the Poetry Society’s National Poetry Competition, one of the world’s biggest and most prestigious poetry competitions, is fast approaching.This year’s judges Sinéad Morrissey, Deryn Rees-Jones and George Szirtes are standing by, waiting to read poems submitted to the National Poetry Competition.

Entrants have until 31 October to send in their entries.Now in its 33rd year, the Poetry Society’s National Poetry Competition is one of the world’s biggest and most prestigious poetry competitions. Winners include both established and emerging poets and for many the prize has proved an importantmilestone in their professional careers. Carol Ann Duffy, Ian Duhig, Philip Gross, and Jo Shapcott have all won in the past.

As well as receiving a monetary prize, winners have their work published in the Poetry Society’s leading international journal,Poetry Review.The prizes are: £5,000 for the overall winner, £2,000 for the second, £1,000 for the third. There are also seven commendations of £100.

Entrants can enter online or download an entry form at:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.