Wednesday, 14 March 2012

'Crucible' by S.G. MacLean

Release date: 12th April 2012
Published by: Quercus Books
ISBN No: 978 1849163163

I have previously featured the books written by Shona MacLean on this blog. You can also read my author interview with Shona last year, by following this link: - (interview)

Quercus books have decided to re-release Shona MacLean’s very popular third book in the Alexander Seaton Series ‘Crucible of Secrets’, as a mass market paper-backed book, with a new cover, a new title ‘Crucible’ and the author Shona MacLean’s name displayed as S.G. MacLean on the cover. This new edition is exactly the same story and written by the same author, as the original book ‘Crucible of Secrets’.

For those who have not already read ‘Crucible of Secrets’, you do not know what you have been missing! I highly recommend this story and the other books that are in this series as a remarkable work of historical fiction. Here is a short synopsis about ‘Crucible’:

Aberdeen, 1631. University librarian Robert Sim takes receipt of a gift of books recently arrived from overseas, mysterious works on alchemy and hermetics - the pursuit of ancient knowledge. By nightfall he has been brutally murdered. 

His colleague and good friend Alexander Seaton is left with the task of hunting for clues as to his killer's motive, as well as locating the missing books. What did Sim discover in the package, and what makes these books so dangerous? 

Crucible is a fantastic historical thriller that imagines deep-rooted deceptions and a secret whose revelation spells danger for anyone who comes close.

A new fourth book in the Alexander Seaton Series by Shona MacLean, is due to be published by Quercus towards the end of this year. I for one, will be looking out for this book when it is released!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.