Wednesday, 17 December 2014

News Item: VOTING OPEN FOR SPECSAVERS BOOK OF THE YEAR 2014 - £250 of National Book Tokens to be won!

£250 of National Book Tokens to be won!

Now that the Specsavers National Book Awards winners have been announced it’s up to you to complete the final chapter by deciding the overall winner of the Specsavers Book of the Year. It’s a difficult choice as the 10 final books cover all genres, from cookery to crime, children’s fiction to audiobooks. Everyone’s favourite reads battle it out for the crowning glory.

You can now vote online to decide which of the Specsavers National Book Awards winning titles deserves to be crowned Book of the Year. The only book award chosen by readers themselves, the Book of the Year award is a true test of popularity, with previous winners including EL James’s Fifty Shades of Grey and David Nicholls’ One Day.

This year’s star-studded ceremony saw 10 talented authors pick up the highly coveted individual Awards, but which of them will you vote the Specsavers’ National Book of the Year. Comedian David Walliams lead the way at the ceremony, winning two awards for his children’s book Awful Auntie.

Previous Book of the Year winner, David Nicholls won again with his latest novel Us. Newcomers Nathan Filer and Jessie Burton are also included in the shortlist for their debut novels The Shock of the Fall (Filer) and The Miniaturist (Burton).

To get involved, simply go to and click on the Book of the Year Vote 2014 section and fill out the form. Vote for the title you would like to see win the Specsavers Book of the Year from the list of National Book Awards winners below:
Crime/Thriller Book of the Year
I Am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes (Transworld)

Magic FM Autobiography/Biography of the Year
Please, Mister Postman by Alan Johnson (Transworld)

Food & Drink Book of the Year
Plenty More by Yotam Ottolenghi (Ebury Publishing)

Children's Book of the Year
Awful Auntie by David Walliams (HarperCollins) Audiobook of the Year
Awful Auntie by David Walliams (HarperCollins)

International Author of the Year
We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler (Profile Books)

Books Are My Bag New Writer of the Year
The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton (Pan Macmillan)

Specsavers Popular Fiction Book of the Year
The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer (HarperCollins)

Non-fiction Book of the Year
Love, Nina by Nina Stibbe (Penguin Books)

UK Author of the Year:
Us by David Nicholls (Hodder & Stoughton)

Everyone who votes will be entered into a draw to win National Book Tokens. The first prize is £100 worth of tokens, with three runners-up prizes of £50 of tokens. Voting closes amidnight 19th December 2014 and The Book of the Year will be announced on 22nd December.

The Specsavers National Book Awards winner campaign is now in libraries and bookstores nationwide. The Specsavers Book of the Year has contributed to the bestseller success of many previous winners that have subsequently achieved mass critical acclaim. Past winners of the award include:
  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman (2013)
  • Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James (2012)
  • How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran (2011)
  • One Day by David Nicholls (2010)
Amanda Ross, from Cactus TV, who founded and produces the Awards, commented: “With so many fabulous books to choose between, I’m glad I’m not eligible to vote, but the shortlists sorted out all my Christmas shopping for me.  I can’t wait to see who the public decide should win Book of the Year.”

Dame Mary Perkins, Specsavers founder, said: “We’re delighted to be supporting The National Book of the Year awards again this year. It’s been a pleasure to meet so many gifted authors and to enjoy the incredible talent that they represent. I’m wishing them all the very best of luck and would like to thank all of the members of the public who take the time to vote.”

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.