Tuesday, 1 March 2016

'A Flash of Water' by Chan Ling Yap

Release date: 15th March 2016
Published by: Marshall Cavendish International
ISBN No:978 9814677769

The year is 1883. China is teetering on the verge of bankruptcy. In the countryside, antagonism against foreigners and missionaries is growing and the warlords are at large.

Li Ling, a young peasant girl in China, flees to Malaya to escape being made a concubine to a warlord, only to find herself tricked into becoming a second wife to a rich man with sadistic tendencies. Her life becomes intertwined with that of her rescuer, Shao Peng, in a Malaya that is rapidly transforming under British rule.

A Flash of Water follows New Beginnings and together with Sweet Offerings and Bitter-Sweet Harvest forms a quadrilogy, which traces the lives of one family against the turbulent political, economic and social changes in China and Malaya. The books are complete in themselves.

Copyright: Amazon Synopsis

1 comment:

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.